I don't know why but even before the games started this weekend, I had a deep ambivalence towards the F.A. Cup this year. It could be that Leeds took the even earlier than usual to fuck it up and we didn't even make the third round. There were no meaty ties despite what anyone says.
Stoke vs Newcastle was dull.
I even got fed up of the patronising interest in Chasetown. A bunch of Supply teachers against a team that had Jimmy HAsselbaink sat with his cocoa and woolly hat clearly not wanting to amble round the Chasetown back 4.
I think the only way to get the premier league teams to use their whole ass is to take one of the Champions league spots and give it to the winners of the F.A. Cup. That would spice up the Premier League to with one of the Big 4 having to slum it in the Uefa cup playing on a thursday in a rainy shed against the likes of Drogheda and Trelleborgs.
It won't happen obviously as the money men will pull a face but it's the only way I tells you.
A Blog about Football involving my attempt to find 101 ways to make football more interesting. It's not very serious, I leave that to Alan Shearer.
Monday, 7 January 2008
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
Blog Archive
-
▼
2008
(34)
-
▼
January
(11)
- Who the Fuck is Alan Hutton?
- Return of the Mac.
- Dennis Wise: A Tirade.
- Why does the BBC perservere so...
- Number 3: Football on the Rotating Death Stage fro...
- Why does no-one mention Gazza.
- Number 2: Appoint Keggy Keegle
- Undermining Rafa, Fat Sam's Speak Easy, return of ...
- F.A. Cup - Clearly No-one gives a fuck.
- Number 1: High Rise Football
- Under Pressure
-
▼
January
(11)
No comments:
Post a Comment